Found a net access, I answer directly after each question >>>
When assaulting enemies in cover, do they both add 1 suppression per casualty ? The rules could be read as only the defender getting them.
>>> p.20 "Fight simultaneous Close Combat: Roll Close Combat Dice for all infantry models participating that have at least one enemy model within their CR."
So yes, if the assaulting unit is taking a casualty, they also get a suppression marker.
Same question applies to the combat within a structure if the attacker gain access, all those instances when the combat is simultaneous ( also does the defender count as activated after fighting in that simultaneous action ?)
>>> as above, and the defender is not activated, quote again from p.20: "Note that this allows the unit in cover to fight even though they are not taking an action! "
Ferocious, does the modifier always kick in in combat ? It is only mentioned in the assaults against enemies not in the open.
>>> p.30:"during Assault and Close Combat actions" applies to all close combat dice!
I do not really understand the question, what is only mentioned in assaults not in the open?
2) Calling artillery, the action that allows you to call artillery show the profile of the weapons.. these show that they are one shot but 3 uses per turn... How is that interpreted ? ( and are they one use per element that can call them or one use for the whole side ? )
>>> p.15:"A characteristic of 3 means that the weapon can be fired up to 3 times per turn"
p.101:"This unit may purchase up to 3 successfully resolved Air/Artillery Strikes."
P.37:"A weapon with the One-Shot feature can only be used one time per game. Once used, it is gone for good. "
So if a unit with the command ability has purchased 2 strikes, then uses 1 action and calls in a successful air strike, that strike is gone. With its 2nd action it could call in another strike. So the strike can be called in up to 3 times per turn, but each strike on its own is only usable once.
3) Is there any case when you cannot use a CP for re-roll ? Like what about a LD test to regroup or call artillery ?
>>> just as p.18 6.2.1. "Command Points and Re-Rolls" says.
Regroup is mentioned and action based, since calling in artillery is a special action, so also action based, you can also re-roll.
4) overwatch, the use of psi in overwatch is only mentioned when you get assaulted.. is that the objective or was it an oversight and I can really use it in the other overwatch conditions ?
>>> can you point me to the relevant pages? I am a bit lost...
5) I understand correctly that vehicles cannot do overwatch, right ? It is not a listed action.. I guess part of the nerfing vehicles design concept.
>>> What is nerfing?
Otherwise, as you said, not listed, so not possible for vehicles.
6 ) when attacking with blast weapons, what side of the vehicle do I attack ?
>>> please check p. 35: "9.3. Blast/X”" and p. 44:"11.4. Vehicle Facing " using the facings shown on p.45
And would this be different for direct weapons with blast vs indirect weapons with blast ?
>>> No, simply determine the facing from where you are shooting. And do not forget 3rd paragraph on p.37 for indirect weapons.
7) The rules explain how vehicles close combat infantry, what if infantry assault vehicles ? In the WWII rules the tank hunters gain special explosives but here in the sci fi rules they don't ?
>>> The tank hunter ability still gives a bonus, but the WW 2 weapons are indeed gone. The better ranged weapons make such desperate attacks unnecessary. If you still want to assault a vehicle just use the normal rules.
Now a couple of design questions to understand some underlying design ideas:
A) concentrate fire is really an action that you want to use with weapons that you cannot fire twice in the turn, right ? Else I'd rather shoot twice than re-roll misses, correct ? Like for example.. ideal for a missile launcher ?
>>> up to you, but yes, this is an obvious situation!
B) Pintle machine guns can be prevented from firing through the mechanic explained in the rules, even if they are remote controlled under armor ? ( not difficult to come up with a rationalization if it is aimed at game balance ).
>>> as you said and explained in the rules.
C) I have 15mm guys but individually based... I've noticed that blast weapons in a way operate a bit different when attacking armies with multiple figures in a base. It is a good compromise given the smaller scale. Would you think that it make sense to treat the blast area as the diameter rather than the radius for individually based 15" or just use the damage dice x blast X" to each infantry unit under the blast area ? ... individually based 15s looks kind of so spread out when you try to avoid the blast areas..
>>> no, just use the rules as it is, it applies for both sides, so no hassle imo.
D) On thing I missed before, seems obvious from the reading but just wanted to confirm... you do Take cover, and you could stay in that position with the take cover not going away while you shoot over future turns. It is not a one use effect that I lose once I have re-rolled my saves.. I will only lose it if I do one of the actions indicated, correct ? (This would make it a must when you get to a good position...)
>>> absolutely correct, only the actions listed on p.27 end the effect. By extreme a unit in a good position could stay in cover under the take caver action for the whole game.
Ok.. I think that is what I have for now... I'm having fun with the rules..
>>> great, if anything else comes up just chime in.
The basic Archetypes are fine, but I might later ask for some help on pointing out a few variants of elements to adjust to the universe that I'm representing... Hope you can help with that..
>>> just post any ideas here and we can discuss them then!