lefttop righttop
leftborder rightborder
leftborder
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2017, 11:28:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Recent
[Today at 11:23:48 PM]

[Today at 11:20:14 PM]

[Today at 11:18:34 PM]

[Today at 11:13:33 PM]

[Today at 11:12:39 PM]

[Today at 11:12:02 PM]

[Today at 11:10:48 PM]

[Today at 11:08:52 PM]

[Today at 11:05:20 PM]

[Today at 11:03:52 PM]
Pages: 1 ... 99 100 101 [102] 103   Go Down
Author Topic: Frostgrave - Rules  (Read 214317 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Malebolgia
Supporting Adventurer
scatterbrained genius
*


Cyberpunk!

Online Online

Age: 37
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2956


WWW
« Reply #1515 on: April 07, 2017, 04:22:15 PM »

Or houserule it because of the awesomeness of the idea Cool
Logged

Deckard: "They don't advertise for killers in the newspaper. That was my profession. Ex-cop. Ex-blade runner. Ex-killer."
Like_Clockwork
bookworm



"The only way to meet your equal, is to become it"

Offline Offline

Location: The 4th Dimension
Posts: 93


« Reply #1516 on: April 07, 2017, 04:40:41 PM »

Lol THANK YOU Joe. That is a 100% little brother idea right there, and I think as mentioned above, it WAS inspired from Dishonored. But yeah, that seemed too odd to work, and even if it did work, that technically would be hard to execute and not worth the pay off.

Thank you,
LC
Logged

I do hope you enjoyed reading whatever it is I have typed, I likely put some thought into it, and appreciate when others look into my brain and go, "Huh, okay"
Timeshadow
scientist




Offline Offline

Age: 41
Location: Oromocto NB Canada
Posts: 395


« Reply #1517 on: April 10, 2017, 08:22:16 PM »

Lol THANK YOU Joe. That is a 100% little brother idea right there, and I think as mentioned above, it WAS inspired from Dishonored. But yeah, that seemed too odd to work, and even if it did work, that technically would be hard to execute and not worth the pay off.

Thank you,
LC

That's a neat combo if it worked and not without risk. If your transpose target makes their will save or if you fail to cast the transpose you go splat....
Logged
Happy Matt
Supporting Adventurer
bookworm
*



Offline Offline

Location: Waikiki
Posts: 81


« Reply #1518 on: April 12, 2017, 07:59:05 PM »

A few quick questions.

1) On the explosive cocktail, it says it acts as the grenade spell. Does it act like a successfully cast grenade or do I need to roll to 'cast' the potion? Also is it a magical attack?

2) When you have a summoning circle in your base, to summon a demon do need to know both Summon and Bind demon spells or just Summon? If you just need the Summon spell do you need to roll to get the demon there and then to bind it or just once?

Thanks for the help.
Logged
Abyssalknight42
lurker



Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1519 on: April 15, 2017, 04:24:58 AM »

My game group played for the first time last week and we all thought it was a blast. I have a few questions that will probably come up in future games.

-if a soldier is pushed over a placed exploding rune and stops it's movement 4" past a rune, does the rune explode?
-summon demon: if I roll a 1 and I choose to empower the spell, would a demon still come out and attack my wizard?
-for "large" type units, is the base and model supposed to be larger than soldiers?
Logged
Like_Clockwork
bookworm



"The only way to meet your equal, is to become it"

Offline Offline

Location: The 4th Dimension
Posts: 93


« Reply #1520 on: April 17, 2017, 04:18:10 PM »

A few quick questions.

1) On the explosive cocktail, it says it acts as the grenade spell. Does it act like a successfully cast grenade or do I need to roll to 'cast' the potion? Also is it a magical attack?

2) When you have a summoning circle in your base, to summon a demon do need to know both Summon and Bind demon spells or just Summon? If you just need the Summon spell do you need to roll to get the demon there and then to bind it or just once?

Thanks for the help.

Any potion that says "acts like a _____ spell" is implied that you are just doing the effect of the spell. So you don't have to roll to cast the "effect", since it's a potion, you just roll for the attack that it gives you.

When you summon a demon, (assuming you roll higher) it already is bound to you, knowing Bind Demon is just a nice spell to have in case you lose control of your demon, or if you want to control someone elses.

Thank you,
LC
Logged
Severon
lurker



Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1521 on: April 17, 2017, 08:05:49 PM »

Quote
2) When you have a summoning circle in your base, to summon a demon do need to know both Summon and Bind demon spells or just Summon? If you just need the Summon spell do you need to roll to get the demon there and then to bind it or just once?

To use it as an Out of Game Spell you need to know both spells since the Summoning Circle requires both spels to be cast and you can cast only those spells that you know.
Logged
Happy Matt
Supporting Adventurer
bookworm
*



Offline Offline

Location: Waikiki
Posts: 81


« Reply #1522 on: April 18, 2017, 07:08:17 AM »

To use it as an Out of Game Spell you need to know both spells since the Summoning Circle requires both spels to be cast and you can cast only those spells that you know.

That is what I was afraid of.

Thanks
Logged
joe5mc
Moderator
mad scientist




Offline Offline

Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 848


WWW
« Reply #1523 on: April 18, 2017, 02:54:57 PM »

Happy Matt

1) You don't need to roll. Just play as though the spell was successfully cast.

2) See the Rules for summoning circle. It states you must case both spells.

Abyssalknight - glad you enjoyed it!

If you get pushed over the rune - 'boom' baby!

Summon Demon - If you roll a 1, there really isn't much you can do accept get attacked. The downside of summoning I'm afraid.

Large Units - Frostgrave doesn't really care about base size. Should large creatures be on bigger bases - probably - but it not necessary.
Logged

Abyssalknight42
lurker



Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1524 on: April 19, 2017, 01:01:59 AM »

Thanks for the answers Joe! Just a quick clarification if you wouldn't mind (my wife and I are arguing over the definition of "boom" baby) So the rune explodes - is the soldier pushed over the rune caught in the blast or is he safe if pushed beyond the blast radius?

Also, is there ever a chance for the addition of official multiplayer rules? We played 2v2 and, while we had a great time, we know this isn't how the rules were written. When people had questions our friend who organized the group of us kept throwing his hands up in exasperation, proclaiming that there aren't rules for this. It all worked out fine but it was certainly chaos (mostly in a good way)!

Thanks again!
Logged
joe5mc
Moderator
mad scientist




Offline Offline

Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 848


WWW
« Reply #1525 on: April 19, 2017, 10:00:27 AM »

I suppose I could have been a bit clearer. The Rune explodes at the point the soldier gets within range, so he is caught in the blast. If he's still alive, continue pushing him.

The rules seem to work fine for multi-player free-for-alls. I admit, I haven't given much thought to team play. The closest I've come is the co-operative scenarios found in Dark Alchemy and the semi-co-operative in Ravages of Time.  It's probably not an area I'll be looking at in the near future.
Logged
Thoth-Amon
schoolboy



Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #1526 on: April 23, 2017, 04:21:24 PM »

Casting spells into combat.

I just wanted to clarify a few points please :-

1) Casting grenade near a combat. Say my barbarian is engaged with an enemy archer. Can I cast grenade near to the combat in such a way that the archer is within the area of effect but not my barbarian? If so, does this mean that only the archer is liable to take damage, or does it then count as 'shooting into combat' and the actual target is determined randomly?

2) When resolving grenade and considering shooting modifiers do you consider intervening terrain / cover between the caster and the impact point, or between the impact point and the target, or both?

3) Other spells into combat. Am I right in saying that if the spell is not resolved as a 'shooting attack' then it can be cast into combat without randomising the target? e.g. Push or Reveal Death

cheers...
Logged
Doug.Sundseth
lurker



Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #1527 on: April 23, 2017, 07:28:30 PM »

Restore Life is a Wizard Only spell. Does that mean that if I have such a scroll and my wizard is killed, my apprentice can't read the scroll to revive the wizard*?

I don't see anything preventing the use of a scroll of Brew Potion to brew expensive potions without risk. I would also read it that Greater Potions would still require the wizard to pay the listed ingredient cost. Am I missing anything?

In the Potions in Frostgrave section of the Folio, you state that "Unless stated otherwise in a potion's description, the effects of a potion last until the end of the current game." I assume that it was not intended that the effects of an Elixir of Life last only until the end of the current game.

In the same section: "The on-going effects of any potion are cancelled by anything that cancels spells, ...." As written, this would seem to imply that you could use a Dispel Magic to kill a wizard who had been raised by an Elixir of Life or to do 5 damage to a character that had been healed by a Potion of Healing. FWIW, I don't intend to play that way, but I thought it worthwhile to mention.
Logged
jp1885
mastermind



"An enquiring mind is sufficient qualification"

Offline Offline

Location: The 'ford
Posts: 1661


WWW
« Reply #1528 on: April 23, 2017, 09:49:03 PM »

Casting spells into combat.

I just wanted to clarify a few points please :-

1) Casting grenade near a combat. Say my barbarian is engaged with an enemy archer. Can I cast grenade near to the combat in such a way that the archer is within the area of effect but not my barbarian? If so, does this mean that only the archer is liable to take damage, or does it then count as 'shooting into combat' and the actual target is determined randomly?

It's effectively a shooting attack into combat, so I'd say randomise.

Quote
2) When resolving grenade and considering shooting modifiers do you consider intervening terrain / cover between the caster and the impact point, or between the impact point and the target, or both?

IMHO between impact point and target.

Quote
3) Other spells into combat. Am I right in saying that if the spell is not resolved as a 'shooting attack' then it can be cast into combat without randomising the target? e.g. Push or Reveal Death

cheers...

Yep (though push is essentially a shooting attack).
Logged



jp1885
mastermind



"An enquiring mind is sufficient qualification"

Offline Offline

Location: The 'ford
Posts: 1661


WWW
« Reply #1529 on: April 23, 2017, 09:59:01 PM »

Restore Life is a Wizard Only spell. Does that mean that if I have such a scroll and my wizard is killed, my apprentice can't read the scroll to revive the wizard*?

Good question. I guess there's nothing stopping the apprentice from using a scroll, even if he/she can't cast the spell. Not sure though.

Quote
I don't see anything preventing the use of a scroll of Brew Potion to brew expensive potions without risk. I would also read it that Greater Potions would still require the wizard to pay the listed ingredient cost. Am I missing anything?

That sounds like a very good use for the write scroll spell! Yes I reckon you'd still need to pay for the ingredients.

Quote
In the Potions in Frostgrave section of the Folio, you state that "Unless stated otherwise in a potion's description, the effects of a potion last until the end of the current game." I assume that it was not intended that the effects of an Elixir of Life last only until the end of the current game.

I would imagine you're correct.

Quote
In the same section: "The on-going effects of any potion are cancelled by anything that cancels spells, ...." As written, this would seem to imply that you could use a Dispel Magic to kill a wizard who had been raised by an Elixir of Life or to do 5 damage to a character that had been healed by a Potion of Healing. FWIW, I don't intend to play that way, but I thought it worthwhile to mention.

Heal and the elixir of life aren't ongoing spells - their effect has already happened (you got your 5 health or came back to life), unlike, say, fog or monstrous form, where the spell is still active.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2017, 10:01:33 PM by jp1885 » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 99 100 101 [102] 103   Go Up
 
Jump to:  

Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Frostgrave Rules Ranged Combat Frostgrave Green_Knight 4 1811 Last post August 06, 2015, 12:40:46 PM
by Green_Knight
Another Frostgrave Campaign House Rules Frostgrave Dalcor 4 2371 Last post September 22, 2015, 05:31:24 AM
by Dakota Mike
2 mordheim rules that could translate to frostgrave Frostgrave Blackivarr 3 1438 Last post April 24, 2017, 03:48:03 AM
by Pendrake
Some Optional Rules and Soldier Experience for Frostgrave Frostgrave « 1 2 » November 18 5810 Last post December 24, 2015, 12:49:19 PM
by November
Frostgrave House Rules Compendium Frostgrave « 1 2 » Shiaic1 20 1648 Last post March 28, 2017, 04:44:23 PM
by schoon
rightborder
leftborder
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
TinyPortal v0.9.8 © Bloc
Waltz design by IchBin
Impressum

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
leftbottomborder   rightbottomborder