lefttop righttop
leftborder rightborder
leftborder
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2017, 11:24:38 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Recent
[Today at 11:23:48 PM]

[Today at 11:20:14 PM]

[Today at 11:18:34 PM]

[Today at 11:13:33 PM]

[Today at 11:12:39 PM]

[Today at 11:12:02 PM]

[Today at 11:10:48 PM]

[Today at 11:08:52 PM]

[Today at 11:05:20 PM]

[Today at 11:03:52 PM]
Pages: 1 ... 98 99 100 [101] 102 103   Go Down
Author Topic: Frostgrave - Rules  (Read 214315 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
jp1885
mastermind



"An enquiring mind is sufficient qualification"

Offline Offline

Location: The 'ford
Posts: 1661


WWW
« Reply #1500 on: March 13, 2017, 03:15:32 PM »

Rayman50 - No, Bottle of Darkness is not a spell, thus neither spelleater or dispell work against it.
Joe is this the case for all potions?
Logged



Desert Scribe
schoolboy



Offline Offline

Posts: 6


WWW
« Reply #1501 on: March 13, 2017, 08:46:31 PM »

Desert Scribe - Welcome to the board - post us some pics of your games and minis when you get the chance.  A magic crossbow does NOT count as a magic weapon for hitting creatures that are immune to non-magic weapons. For that you would need some kind of magic ammunition. Nor do constructs count as having magic weapons unless they are somehow upgraded to do so.  So, yeah, things that can only be hurt by non-magic weapons are bad news, especially to newer warbands.

Thanks for the quick response! I will start a thread of my own later when I have time, but if you're curious right now, you can see some Frostgrave battle reports on my blog, Super Galactic Dreadnought.
Logged

Check out my blog: Super Galactic Dreadnought
Rayman50
lurker



Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1502 on: March 13, 2017, 10:42:13 PM »

Thanks for the clarification as i didn't want this to get misinterpreted.

Logged
Klabautermann
assistant




Offline Offline

Location: Near Muenster in good old Germany
Posts: 46


WWW
« Reply #1503 on: March 14, 2017, 07:56:43 AM »

Joe, thanks for your answer, so it will be very very hard (nearly impossible?) to cast a major demon
Logged
joe5mc
Moderator
mad scientist




Offline Offline

Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 848


WWW
« Reply #1504 on: March 14, 2017, 04:57:55 PM »

Desert Scribe - I've been following you for awhile!

Klabautermann - It's nearly impossible for a starting wizard to summon one in game. However, you can reduce the Casting Number with experience, and there are many ways to get bonuses to the roll, especially out of game. You should definitely check out Forgotten Pacts if you are all about summoning demons. It's got loads of additional rules.
Logged

Desert Scribe
schoolboy



Offline Offline

Posts: 6


WWW
« Reply #1505 on: March 15, 2017, 11:45:34 PM »

Desert Scribe - I've been following you for awhile!

I thought that screen name looked familiar!  Cheesy

Thanks; I'm thrilled to know you've been following my blog. I hope it's proved inspirational, or at least entertaining.
Logged
Like_Clockwork
bookworm



"The only way to meet your equal, is to become it"

Offline Offline

Location: The 4th Dimension
Posts: 93


« Reply #1506 on: March 22, 2017, 02:06:31 AM »

No idea if this is already been cleared, but can you teleport to a point mid air? And then take the appropriate falling damage?

Thank you,
LC
Logged

I do hope you enjoyed reading whatever it is I have typed, I likely put some thought into it, and appreciate when others look into my brain and go, "Huh, okay"
Stubaru
student




Offline Offline

Location: Newbury, NH USA
Posts: 13


« Reply #1507 on: March 22, 2017, 06:31:16 PM »


Klabautermann - It's nearly impossible for a starting wizard to summon one in game. However, you can reduce the Casting Number with experience, and there are many ways to get bonuses to the roll, especially out of game. You should definitely check out Forgotten Pacts if you are all about summoning demons. It's got loads of additional rules.

If this is true, then I have been doing the 'sacrificing of health to get a spell off' wrong. If I need a 28 to summon a Major demon, and I roll a 20, I'll use 8 health to get me that 28. Is this against the game mechanics?
Logged
critsmash
assistant




Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #1508 on: March 27, 2017, 11:38:52 AM »

I have a couple of spell questions...sorry, new warbands=unfamiliar spells=new questions.
Elemental ball- Can I choose a target point, like grenade, or does it have to be a model?
Fools gold- This must be placed with the other treasure, before the warbands randomly decide deployment areas, right...or is it after?
Logged

Darkson71
scientist



Rolling 1s so you don't have to since '95

Offline Offline

Location: On the same planet as you - probably...
Posts: 491


WWW
« Reply #1509 on: March 27, 2017, 02:36:37 PM »

Fool's Gold is at the same time as the 6 "real" treasures (unlike Reveal Secret), otherwise if it was later it would be obvious which was the fake one.
Logged

Home of the ARBBL
"I survived the 525"
critsmash
assistant




Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #1510 on: March 27, 2017, 03:04:51 PM »

Obviously Cheesy, sorry, I meant that all treasure including fools gold are placed and then you decide which is the fake after all players have decided warband deployment zone. 
Logged
joe5mc
Moderator
mad scientist




Offline Offline

Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 848


WWW
« Reply #1511 on: March 31, 2017, 01:09:55 PM »

Sorry guys, been away for a bit!

Critsmash - decide which treasure is the fool's gold when you place it, before player board edge is determined.

Stubaru - you are playing it correctly. I was overstating the case.

Like_Clockwork - I suppose so.
Logged
Like_Clockwork
bookworm



"The only way to meet your equal, is to become it"

Offline Offline

Location: The 4th Dimension
Posts: 93


« Reply #1512 on: April 04, 2017, 10:37:13 PM »

Follow up question, this is where it gets ridiculous.

Now I'm FAIRLY sure this shouldn't apply, but my family likes to play on the rules in weird ways.

Could you do this:
Cast Time Store to store an action
wait a turn
Cast Teleport to a point midair
Before falling, cast Transpose on an enemy, so that they then take the falling damage you would have taken?

I'm pretty sure it can't go that way, you would just fall and take the repercussions of Teleport before being able to cast Transpose, correct?

Thank you,
LC
Logged
Wraith01
assistant



Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #1513 on: April 07, 2017, 12:04:18 AM »

Like_Clockwork You can actually do that in the video game Dishonored. Since it works there I'd accept it. It's creative.
Logged
joe5mc
Moderator
mad scientist




Offline Offline

Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 848


WWW
« Reply #1514 on: April 07, 2017, 04:13:54 PM »

Like_clockwork - No. You completely resolve one action before moving onto the next. So you'd teleport. Go splat. And then you can use yours saved action...not that that is very useful.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 98 99 100 [101] 102 103   Go Up
 
Jump to:  

Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Frostgrave Rules Ranged Combat Frostgrave Green_Knight 4 1811 Last post August 06, 2015, 12:40:46 PM
by Green_Knight
Another Frostgrave Campaign House Rules Frostgrave Dalcor 4 2371 Last post September 22, 2015, 05:31:24 AM
by Dakota Mike
2 mordheim rules that could translate to frostgrave Frostgrave Blackivarr 3 1438 Last post April 24, 2017, 03:48:03 AM
by Pendrake
Some Optional Rules and Soldier Experience for Frostgrave Frostgrave « 1 2 » November 18 5810 Last post December 24, 2015, 12:49:19 PM
by November
Frostgrave House Rules Compendium Frostgrave « 1 2 » Shiaic1 20 1648 Last post March 28, 2017, 04:44:23 PM
by schoon
rightborder
leftborder
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
TinyPortal v0.9.8 © Bloc
Waltz design by IchBin
Impressum

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
leftbottomborder   rightbottomborder